Perhaps?

Yesterday wasn’t as bad as I thought. Well, I ended up not feeling well during work which resulted in me going to the grocery store and literally dragging myself from aisle to aisle, luckily, I had good company so I didn’t focus on my minor but yet, prominent pain in my lower back.

With that said, the unexpected pain turned my go-getter attitude to a I-don’t-give-a-shit attitude only driving me to just get home and crawl into bed. Prepare for the next evening’s festivities? Not a chance. I didn’t even put away the things I purchased at the store, my significant other did! While I did have a great time, with great company, again, my minor yet prominent pain dismayed me so, that I completely “threw” away my to-do-list I had “written” oh so carefully in my mind. I only did one thing on that list which was going to the grocery store and only because I had this party to get ready for.

Forward to today, Friday, the night of the party, and I’ve decided to leave work an hour early in an attempt to properly prepare for this evenings fiesta. Vacuum, dusting, and cooking are just a few things on my imaginary list to take care of late this afternoon. We can’t forget the hour, at minimum, that I’ll need to get ready. This includes showering, straightening my hair, picking out clothes and much more. So an hour for all of that seems more like a fairytale than reality.

When I arrive to my humble abode this afternoon though, at my front door I will see a large package waiting for me to open, that contains my three textbooks for my one class. I know myself pretty well and know that despite all I have to do tonight, before 7 o’clock p.m., I will have the urge to not only open the package, but actually begin studying and completing those assignments that so patiently wait for me online. It is only the first week of the term and already I am behind. Why? Because a week ago, I thought I was going to have to pay over two grand in order to go to school the second term of the summer and that was two grand I didn’t have. Not aware of the financial aid the government so willingly awarded me, (that was sarcasm by the way) I dropped my two classes; until Wednesday afternoon when my enrollment advisor contacted me at work filling me in on the monetary funds I had sitting in my student account obviously hiding from me. “You have enough to take one class and you’ll receive a book voucher that will cover all you need for the course,” she explained. Needless to say I jumped on that train! O.k. so, I can’t take two courses but, I can still take one and that’s all I need to keep a smile on my face! So, here I am, at the end of the week, with a party to prepare for and a class I’m behind in because all week I thought otherwise. Well, I guess I have a long weekend of catch-up reading to complete along with miscellaneous tasks. Will writing my novel somehow sneak it’s way into my agenda this weekend? We shall wait and see!

Leave a Reply

